A quote from one of my heroes…

I just found a quote from William Steig, who wrote and illustrated absolutely brilliant books (Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, The Amazing Bone, Abel’s Island, Dominic, just for a start), and I wanted to share it:

“I often ask myself, ‘What would be an ideal life?’ –I think an ideal life would be just drawing.”steigphoto1

Aww. So sweet, so simple and so true…man, I just loved that guy. I’m so sad he’s not with us any longer; he passed away in 2003. The Jewish Museum has a nice tribute to his work right now: From the New Yorker to Shrek: The art of Willam Steig. Very much worth taking a look at. Thank you for your wonderful work, Mr. Steig.

Leave a Reply

