New illustrations!

See, didn’t I say I’d be updating soon? It’s so helpful to have a real workspace now–I love being able to go up to my studio and work and have everything organized and accessible… So in just the last few days I’ve gotten four things done that I’d been working on for months, which is very satisfying. Anyway, these are the sample illos I’m planning on sending along with my manuscript:

meeting_uncles copy

arrival_cragview copy

owen_inwoods copy

So, there we are–what I’m hoping is that this bunch shows my best work, and also shows that I can draw characters consistently from one scene to another, show people in motion, and do outside and inside settings… I don’t know if it’s really the best strategy to send my sample illustrations with my story or not, but I’d really love to write AND illustrate this story, so I’m just going to chance it. I do keep seeing submission guidelines for various publishers that sound like they are interested in people who both write and illustrate, so I think if I just keep at it eventually I’d find someone open to both… Anyway, I’m going to give it a shot. We’ll see!

2 comments

  1. I discovered your blog a few weeks ago, and I am thrilled to see these new drawings! You are a wonderfully talented pen and ink artist. There’s so much LIFE to these characters. Anyway, best of luck with your submissions and I look forward to seeing more of your wonderful sketches.

    Like

    • Hey, thank you so much for the lovely comment! I hope to be posting a bit more regularly now–I’m having one of those nice bursts of inspiration and energy that come along every now and then–so do keep checking in :)

      Dora

      Like

Leave a Reply

