see, I don’t JUST do pen and ink

I’m getting ready for a show next month and hoping to get a bunch of new things finished for it; just got this one finished up last night & thought I’d share it.

Malevolent Spirits. 12"x18"; pen and ink, watercolor.
Malevolent Spirits. 12"x18"; pen and ink, watercolor.

I would explain the story behind it, but everyone who has ever known a cat understands anyway…

I wish the scan did the colors justice, but watercolors are SO tricky to get to scan decently. My strategy now is just to adjust the colors in Photoshop using the selective color tool, and the results are passable, but I sure wish I knew of a better way of going about it. I had found a tutorial with some tips, but the site’s down now… so if anyone out there has any suggestions, let me know!

4 comments

  1. I love it.
    Adjusting the colors on a scan of traditional art can be rough. My final results are usually just passable too. It never does justice to the original.

    I’d offer tips, but my method is usually just trial and error between level, hue/saturation, and color balance adjustments.

    Like

    • Thanks for the input…At the very least it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who has problems with this! I always wonder if a higher-quality scanner would help, but I’ve seen people saying that doesn’t make much of a difference either. :/

      Like

Leave a Reply

