The Well Witch

So I’m having a show this month at Pangaea Cafe and Pub here in Quincy, CA, and I’ve been working feverishly trying to finish up a few more pieces for it. Just got this one done a few days ago and have been meaning to post it:

The-Well-Witch,coloradj
The Well Witch. watercolor, 9"x18"

It’s from a book I just read (which I highly recommend if you enjoy children’s books–it was fantastic), Well Witched, by Frances Hardinge. (Although I prefer the original title from the UK edition, Verdigris Deep–it suits the book much better, and is so much more atmospheric and eerie. Silly US publishers, renaming things for no reason!) I loved the book so much, I just had to do an illustration for it. I did change some details from the book, but it’s inspired by it, anyway. One of these days I’m probably going to totally dork out and send Frances Hardinge a giddy fan letter…

Anyway, I’m hanging the show this Saturday, so I’ve got a ton of last-minute things to finish–including a whole ‘nother painting I want to get done (eek!)…I’ll have another post with pictures soon.

2 comments

  1. wow this (and your others) is an amazing picture. I’m reading verdigris deep at the moment (in england) and this provides an great image for the book. You should send a copy to the lady who wrote the book!

    Like

    • Hi Louise! Thanks so much for the comment–it’s nice to hear from someone who’s reading the book that the image suits it. (Verdigris Deep is so much better a title than Well Witched, isn’t it? I don’t know why they had to change it for the US edition…just too confusing for us goobers over here in the states, I suppose! ;)

      Anyway, I keep thinking of sending a copy to the author, but then I always chicken out. Thanks for the encouragement, I’ll try to get my nerve up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

