NaNoWriMo Quandary

crest-05e1a637392425b4d5225780797e5a76Well, as always, it’s been about a million years since I posted, despite my constant resolutions to start posting more frequently. My problem is that anytime I say/write/think anything, I assume most people are eagerly waiting for me to shut up (yes, even when I’m just thinking). This feeling makes writing and posting things that are all full of me yapping very difficult, even though I tell myself no one has to read them.

But then once I think that, the next thought is, naturally, “Then why post anything?”

And then I think, “Would you just shut up already?!”

Oh, um, anyway…on to the post!

So I decided to do NaNoWriMo…(National Novel Writing Month, as if you didn’t know)…but I’m already struggling! (I made it all the way to Nov. 2nd, though!) So, I thought maybe it’d help to write a post about what I’m struggling with — which is deciding WHICH project to work on. It’s a weird problem!

nanopostcard

Possible project #1: This is a MG ghost story that’s completely outlined. It’s the one I spent October planning to work on for NaNo…but it’s just not inspiring me anymore. I can’t find the voice for it, and after planning out the whole thing, I can’t remember why I was excited to write it in the first place. But in the few pages I’ve written, there have been little sparks of the right voice in there…that makes me think maybe if I just keep pushing through the first draft, it’d start clicking.

Possible project #2: Another MG, and I’m so excited about this one…but I barely know anything about it other than the main character’s voice and the villain. But I WANT to write this one! But the minute I try to find a starting point…it just kind of slips away from me. I don’t know if the excitement to write it means it’s time to dive in, or if I need to hold off until I know more about it.

Possible project #3: The sequel to the ms. that I’m currently querying. I have the outline for this one, AND the excitement to write it. So it’s a no-brainer, right? Write this one!!

…Exceeepppt…what if the first book is never published? What kind of dope would I be to pour my energy and all-too-limited time into a sequel when nobody’ll ever see Book 1?! That way lies madness, right??

So, fellow NaNo-ers, or writers-who-aren’t-NaNoing, or just anyone at all, actually– how do you decide which project to work on when you have several ideas? Do you get that sense of excitement about an idea and just jump right in, even if it’s only half-baked? Or do you hold back until you have an outline, or at least a pretty good idea of where it’s going?

Leave a Reply

